25 Receive Prime Minister’s Youth Awards

Date Published: 
Monday, April 7, 2014

 Twenty-three young people and two youth-serving
organisations have been awarded the Prime Minister’s Youth Awards for
Excellence for 2013.

The awards ceremony, which was organised by the Ministry of Youth and
Culture with the support of CHASE Fund, took place last night (Sunday) at
Jamaica House. 

Prime Minister, the Most Honourable Portia Simpson Miller, presented the
awards to the 25 who were honoured for excellence in academics, arts and
culture, entrepreneurship, leadership, international achievement, sports, youth
in service and youth work.

The Prime Minister congratulated all of the 41 nominees and encouraged them
to continue to pursue excellence. The Prime Minister said that “achieving
success does not come by accident or overnight, but is the result of making the
right choices, hard work, discipline, perseverance, and overcoming obstacles.”

Minister Hanna, who also congratulated nominees and recipients, said that their
success was the result of “staying true to their mission by pushing themselves
to do more than they did yesterday when they felt like leaving it all for later;
overcoming self-doubt and silencing the naysayers who tell them they cannot
achieve their dreams.” 

The full list of recipients  follow: 


  • Abigail Allen
  • Everett Moseley 
  • Shoyea-Gaye Grant 
  • Nicholas Wright
Arts and Culture:
  •  Kadeem Wilson
  • Christena Williams
  •  Theo Smith



International Achievement: 
  •  John Powell
  • Farley Artwell
  • Gavin Samuels
  •  Kyisha Newman
  •  Tijani Christian
  •  Amorkard Brown
  • Martin Manley
  • Javon Francis
  • Yvonne Foster
  • Yanique Thompson
  • Thristina Harwood

Youth in Service:

  • Seidg Rowe
  • Lamar Rowe 
  • Jamilia Crooks
  • Kadesha Croney 
  • Terral Christian 

Youth Work:

  • National Inter-School Brigade
  • Youth Organisation for Upliftment